Togo of the Kings

Une exposition immersive dans l’histoire du Togo
November 2019 - May 2020
Credit: Nicolas Robert

Celebrating the past while anchoring it in the contemporary present, the Togo of the Kings allows the visitor to discover the history of Togo in its unity and variety, highlighting its regional anchorage in West Africa.

Spread over 400 m2, this exhibition plunges the visitor into a lively and immersive journey. Both playful and documented, it plays on the dramatization of the kingdoms and civilizations that marked the history of the country until its independence in 1960.

Most of these artefacts have never before left their original territory. Their current owners gave special permission for artefacts to be displayed in public in the interest of sharing national heritage with as many people as possible. The content of the exhibition is enriched by talks from contemporary visual artists, photographers and filmmakers, such as Sokey Edorh, Kodjo Wornanu and Louis Vincent.

Togo of the Kings focuses on these artefacts and their journey, offering a unique occasion to share little-documented traces of heritage “to celebrate past imaginaries, their enduring presence, and their projection into the future of a constantly evolving nation.” (Kangni Alem, writer and co-curator  of the exhibition).

Curators: Kangni Alem, Gaëtan Noussouglo
Scenography: Franck Houndegla, Sophie Schenck, Péroline Gonçalves, Arsène Younang
Collector: Gaëtan Noussouglo

Vous n'êtes pas connecté à internet

Célébrant le passé tout en l’ancrant dans le présent, le Togo des Rois permet au visiteur de découvrir l’histoire du Togo dans son unité et sa variété, en mettant en lumière son ancrage régional en Afrique de l’Ouest.  

Déployée sur 400 m2, cette exposition plonge le visiteur dans un parcours vivant. A la fois ludique et documenté, elle joue sur la théâtralisation des royaumes et civilisations qui ont marqué l’histoire du pays jusqu’à son Indépendance en 1960.

Collectés auprès des descendants actuels des royaumes et chefferies, les objets exposés n’ont pour la majorité jamais été sortis de leur territoire. A titre exceptionnel, les détenteurs de ces objets ont accepté de les montrer au grand public, s’inscrivant ainsi dans la volonté de partager le patrimoine national avec le plus grand nombre. Le contenu de l’exposition est enrichi par des conférences d’artistes visuels, photographes et cinéastes contemporains, tels que Sokey Edorh, Kodjo Efoui Wornanou et Louis Vincent.

L’exposition sera une occasion unique de partager avec le public du Palais de Lomé un patrimoine peu documenté, avec le pari de « célébrer à la fois des imaginaires du passé, un fort ancrage dans le présent, et une projection dans l’avenir d’une nation en devenir ». Kangni Alem, écrivain, co-commissaire de l’exposition Le Togo des Rois.

Artistes : Marcel Amouzou, Jean-Dominique Burton, Sokey Edorh, George Osidi, Louis Vincent, Kodjo Efoui Wornanu
Commissariat d’exposition : Kangni Alem, Gaëtan Noussouglo
Scénographie : Franck Houndegla, Sophie Schenck, Péroline Gonçalves, Arsène Younang